Bookmark and Share

Pleasant Ridge Library Celebrated Its Grand Opening on April 26

The Mayor, members of Council and of the Vaughan Public Library Board officially opened Pleasant Ridge Library on Sunday, April 26 at the Grand Opening Celebration. Hundreds of community members and their families enjoyed fun-filled activities such as face painting, balloon art, storytimes and meeting Buzz Lightyear.

Pleasant Ridge Grand Opening Celebration

From L to R: Aleksandra Dowiat-Vine, VPL Director of Planning & Communications; Joe Maio, President of Maystar General Contractors; Margie Singleton, VPL Chief Executive Officer; Devender Sandhu, VPL Board Chair; Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua, City of Vaughan; Michael McKenzie, former VPL Board Chair; Sandra Yeung Racco, Ward 4 Councillor & VPL Board Trustee; Maya Goldenberg, VPL Board Trustee & President of former Thornhill Woods Community Association; Gary McCluskie, Principal, Diamond Schmitt Architects; and Terri Watman, VPL Director of Service Delivery.

The Pleasant Ridge Library is the newest branch of Vaughan Public Libraries (VPL). It has been built as an addition to the North Thornhill Community Centre at 300 Pleasant Ridge Avenue.

In November 2013, it was announced that the library would be designed by Diamond Schmitt Architects and built by Maystar General Contractors. A site dedication ceremony was held in December. Construction began in February, 2014 and was completed in December. The library opened to the public on December 20.

“It is my great pleasure to welcome you to Vaughan Public Libraries’ newest addition – the Pleasant Ridge Library. This vibrant new library provides a welcoming space for all Thornhill Woods residents. With many child-friendly features such as heated floors in the children’s area, interactive play units and early literacy stations, the library is especially a great place for children to learn and play. Like all VPL branches, Pleasant Ridge Library will enrich, inspire and transform the lives of many Vaughan citizens,” said Devender Sandhu, Chair, Vaughan Public Library Board.




Comments are closed.