Bookmark and Share

Groundbreaking Ceremony for the New Resource Library

VAUGHAN, ON –  Vaughan Public Libraries (VPL) announced yesterday that Aquicon Construction Co. Ltd. has been selected to build the third resource library in the City of Vaughan, which will be located at 2191 Major Mackenzie Drive. The Vaughan Public Library Board, Mayor and Members of Council attended a groundbreaking ceremony for the new library to celebrate the start of the construction phase of the building project. The library, designed by ZAS Architects is anticipated to open in 2015.

 “This is another great moment for the Civic Centre Resource Library building project. We are very pleased to have Aquicon Construction on board to help us make the new resource library a reality.” said Michael McKenzie, Chair of Vaughan Public Library Board. “This new library is both a significant and valuable addition to both Vaughan Public Libraries and the City of Vaughan. Like all of VPL’s branches, it will provide a welcoming destination that educates, excites and empowers our community,” added McKenzie.

“Designing the new library is an exciting yet difficult task. To ensure the library meets the needs of our community, we adopted a collaborative design approach by incorporating suggestions from members of the community gathered from surveys, focus groups and community meetings conducted over the past few years.” said Margie Singleton, CEO, Vaughan Public Libraries. “I am delighted to say that the new library will indeed meet the many needs of our diverse community”.

The exterior of the library building is spectacular yet uniquely designed. It features a transparent look created by:

  • The use of a collection of concave semi-mirrored surface
  • A library façade that reflects its surroundings and patrons while suggesting a layered set of interior spaces
  • Peaked roofline extending above the perimeter of “heritage landscape”
  • Scalloped façades that address the scale of both driver and pedestrian with a gradient of transparent to reflective glass and metal panels

The interior of the library is futuristic yet welcoming and features the following:

  • Ample natural lighting and high ceilings
  • Good acoustic design
  • Flexible, adaptable and easily convertible spaces
  • Specific areas for teens, children, quite reading, serious studying and an collaboration
  • Exciting marketplace full of inspiring and enticing library materials
  • A Digital Media Lab
  • An internal courtyard that is open to the elements

In addition, the library is designed to be a green building which complies with the City of Vaughan’s Green Building Policy. It will also be an accessible facility that offers accessible shelving and technologies to accommodate individuals with special needs.


(From left to right): VPL Board Trustees Steve Kerwin, Isabella Ferrara, Grace Locilento, Suri Rosen, Regional Councillor and VPL Board Trustee Michael Di Biase, Deputy Mayor, Regional Councillor and VPL Board Trustee Gino Rosati, President of Aquicon Construction Co. Ltd Daniel Aquino, Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua, VPL Board Chair Michael McKenzie, VPL CEO Margie Singleton, Ward 1 Councillor and VPL Board Trustee Marilyn Iafrate, Regional Councillor Deb Schulte, Ward 4 Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco, Ward 3 Councillor and VPL Board Trustee Rosanna DeFrancesca, Architect of ZAS Architect Inc. Dieter Janssen and VPL Board Trustee Lorraine de Boer attending the Civic Centre Resource Library groundbreaking ceremony on June 26.


(From L to R): President of Aquicon Construction Co. Ltd. Daniel Aquino, Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua, VPL Board Chair Michael McKenzie, VPL CEO Margie Singleton and Dieter Janssen of ZAS Architects Inc.


(From L to R): Emilio Fullone and Robert Aquino of Aquicon Construction Co. Ltd., VPL Director of Planning and Communications Terri Watman and Dieter Janssen of ZAS Architects Inc.


Executive Team from VPL (From L to R): Aleksandra Dowiat Vine, Terri Watman, Margie Singleton, Sandy VanderWerff and Lisa McDonough


Master of Ceremonies – VPL Board Chair Michael McKenzie


Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua


Ward 1 Councillor and VPL Board Trustee Marilyn Iafrate

Comments are closed.